Day 14 – Socrative Quiz

photo_2On Friday my class and I tried a first attempt at using Socrative student clicker for the weekly warm-up quiz. Setting up a Socrative quiz was easy. You have to use two devices to set it up. Using my iPad, I wrote 4 questions that were based off of this past weeks warm up problems. Students were allowed to use their weekly warm-up sheet on the quiz, and while the numbers and questions would be different, I made sure they were very similar to what they had already seen. Socrative allows you to choose from multiple choice, short answer, or essay response. It has a nice interface and it is very user-friendly. The only downfall I ran into was typing in certain math “lingo”. For example, for one of the questions I wanted the students to write a number in scientific notation. With no way to write numbers as exponents, I had the students use the ^ key to denote a power. This was not a big deal but took more explaining on my part.

image

My first class of the day is a group of really great 7th graders. They were the first ones to have a go with Socrative. I was excited for them to use the their iPads and they were excited to finally put them to use! All was well until…. I heard the whining, complaining, frustration, and concerns! Some students seemed legitimately ANGRY at Socrative! I started to feel a bit stressed out/guilty that it wasn’t going well/angry at technology (not what I had hoped!!) What we figured out, ended up helping me for the rest of the day. When I set up my quiz, I also typed in the answers. However I typed in the answers was the ONLY correct answer. So for scientific notation, for example, if the answer was “5.8×10^7″, a student would get it incorrect if they put 5.8 x 10^7” (notice the spacing). This caused so many students to get the wrong response even though they know they put the exact same answer. Formatting was not something I anticipated as being an issue. By the end of the day, I knew exactly how to tell the students to type in the answers. I know for next week I will make it even easier, as in only single numbers as answers, or using only multiple choice.

photoOverall, I am excited about using Socrative. I love the instant feedback the students get, and I like how easy it is to set up and grade (an emailed report is sent right to my email with color-coded right vs wrong answers).  With the craziness of today, I decided not to grade this one, but hopefully next week it will be smooth sailing!

About Gretchen Simmerson

Middle School math teacher living in Austin, Texas.
This entry was posted in i-pads in math, Socrative and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

