Day 2

We started the day with class introductions, something I did not do on day 1. It’s fun to hear from all the students and I love hearing what they choose to share with the class (lots of pets were talked about). I knew today would be sort of a “maintenance” day. I wanted to go over the syllabus and expectations for the year, pass out textbooks, etc. In an effort not to completely bore them I created this video using Sparkol videoscribe (Free trial!). They were very intrigued! It’s amazing what the students (and most people) remember from watching a short video like this.  I could talk on and on about expectations, and I bet they would not remember half of what was said.  I handed out the syllabus, passed out text books…still lots of talking today!  Perhaps next year, I’ll do a videoscribe for all “First Day” things….

About Gretchen Simmerson

Middle School math teacher living in Austin, Texas.
Video | This entry was posted in first day, Math Teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

